Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes May 14, 2019 Center for tomorrow

Attendance: attached at end.

All proceedings of the meeting recorded are on the UB Box once the minutes have been approved.

Meeting called to order by Chair & Presiding Officer, Dr Phil Glick at 3.00pm

Agenda presentation: Agenda approved unanimously with 2 changes – 2 resolutions have been moved to new business to be voted upon (the rules have been suspended to allow reading and voting during the same meeting.

Secretary's report: The minutes were accepted unanimously.

Chair's report:

- 1. Obituaries: None.
- 2. *Election committee:* There will be an election for a SUNY senator with two nominees.
- 3. One world cafe: Construction will begin sometime later during the month.
- 4. Vice Provost of Libraries search: There are 4 candidates. Please meet the candidates
- 5. Myerson Faculty mentoring award: Three colleagues won the award.
- 6. Sub boarB1 replacement: The administration has decided to replace Sub board1 and they have been invited to the next meeting.
- 7. Last meeting: It was conducted at the football stadium with the coach giving us a pep talk.
- 8. Phil Glick thanked everyone and reminiscence about the last 4 years of his service. He thanked Lindsay Allen, Dominic Licata, Sean Sullivan, Eileen Sherman, Bob Granfield, Jessy Alexander and Destiny Johnson. He thanked the President and the Provost for listening.

President's report: None

Provost's report: None

Unfinished business:

Resolution 1: Based on the strategic planning committee's suggestion it was decided to focus more on sustainability at UB for which a 14th standing committee was created for campus environmental and sustainability committee.

The question called –unanimously passed.

Resolution 2: The rules were suspended to appoint Destiny Johnson from the law school as the Parliamentarian when Jim Hassett retired. This resolution will allow us to appoint a non-faculty as Parliamentarian should the need arise.

The question called –unanimously passed.

Resolution 3: Academic planning and grading committee was asked to look at the syllabus regarding registration and sexual violence in campus. The faculty felt that there needs to be a link to these in the syllabus. The question called –unanimously passed.

Resolution on UB graduate Living stipend: This is the second reading for the resolution that calls for the formation of a Living stipend committee with equal representation of administration, faculty and graduate students to study the graduate student stipend and figure out a way to bring it up to the levels of the MIT living wage calculator.

Jason offered an amendment: change from the levels of the (MIT living wage calculator) to the levels of the (MIT living wage calculator minus the health insurance). The amendment failed.

The question called –passed with a simple majority. It will be sent to the President for promulgation

Resolution: Middle state accreditation process occurred in 2014. The next one is 2024. Assessment efforts had to be built quickly at the program level with the student outcomes being assessed. For the next time we need institutional level learning outcomes mapped onto the program level outcomes. A university level assessment council with representation from all academic units – taking the institutional learning goals from UB 2020, making them measureable and will be mapped onto the program level

outcomes. They asked that the FS accept the current iteration of the resolution. A discussion ensued regarding resilience, global component for which an amendment was presented, voted upon and failed with a vote of 19-16. Please refer to the recoding on UB box. Further conversations are visualized to discuss the learning outcomes. The resolution passed with a majority vote.

Resolution: To remove the name of Kapoor from Kapoor Hall in the School of Pharmacy in south campus due to charges being brought against Kapoor for influencing the use of particular medication and insurance companies for financial benefit. The resolution was passed unanimously.

Ernie Sternberg sent a request for members for the environmental and sustenance committee.

New business: None

Executive session: None

The meeting adjourned at 4.30 pm.



Faculty Senate Meeting Tuesday, May 14th, 2019 3:00-4:30pm, Center For Tomorrow

FACULTY SENATE OFFICERS
Philip Glick present
Jessy Alexander Present
Destiny Johnson Present
SCHOOL OF ARCHITECTURE AND PLANNING 3/3
Martha Bohm And The Control of the C
Zoe Hamstead Tol H
Ernie Sternberg
COLLEGE OF ARTS AND SCIENCES 20/31
Jason Benedict
Sampson Blair
Vesna Danilovic It pre feut et
Kenneth Dauber
Hanna Grol-Prokopczyk
Walter Hakala <i>((Cla(f)) (f(s))</i>
Rachael Hinkle
Maureen Jameson , Maureen Jame
Hal Langfur
Ruth Mack
Carine Mardorossian
Jacob Neiheisel Jack Min
Ariel Nereson / Yml /
Michael Poulin
Lewis Powell ///////////////////////////////////
Wendy Quinton
Jessica Su
Jasmina Tumbas
Paola Ugolini
Zhen Wang
Barbara Bom EighsL

3	
SCHOOL OF DENTAL MEDIÇINE 4/4	
Dana Keblawi	
Benita Sobieraj	
Eugena Stephan	
Lisa Yerke Zigule	
O	
EDUCATIONAL OPPORTUNITY CENTER 1/1	W
Chris Yuen (a)	
SCHOOL OF ENGINEERING AND APPLIED SCIENCES 11/	<u> 11</u>
Gary Dargush	
Paul DesJardin	
Igor Jankovic 3 ~ ~ ~	
Bharat Jayaraman /	<u></u>
James Jensen N	
Steven Ko 6	
Joseph Mollendorf	
Joseph Mook	
Abani Patra	
Mark Swihart	
Marina Tsianou Manna Tsiana	
GRADUATE SCHOOL OF EDUCATION 5/5	
Samuel Abramovich & a	
Dan Albertson	
Namsook Kim Kamsok S	
Valerie Nesset Valerie h Nerret	
Corrie Stone-Johnson	
SCHOOL OF LAW 3/3	
Patrick Long	
Jonathan Manes	
Mateo Taussig-Rubbo ///	

SCHOOL OF MANAGEMENT 3/5	
Jurriaan de Jong	
Alan Dick Rad	n

SCHOOL OF MEDICINE AND BIOMEDICAL SCIENCES 25/25
Magestyle
Peter Bradford Rev
George Chen
Teresa Danforth
Jessica Donhauser Aulu
Michael Dwyer
Valerie Elberson M
Biswarup Ghosh Tiswaruf
Kim Griswold
Deepali Handa Amar
Mark Hicar
Wilma Hofmann
Tracey Ignatowski Value Gotton
Ashish Kataria
Sashank Kaushik
Bree Kramer
David Mattson
Bob Miletich Mitatali my
Michael Morales #10 911
Jayasree Nair
Joy Parrish Q.D.A
Richard Quigg
Pinaki Sarder
Christine Schaner-Tooley (1) Menn Tooley
Heather Territo + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + +

SCHOOL OF NUR	SING 2/2	
Kristine Faust	Grislin dourst	
Carla Jungquist	V	

SCHOOL OF PHARMACY & PHARMACEUTICAL SCIENCES 3/3
Ed Bednarczyk
Robert Straubinger A M S
Nicole Cieri-Hutcherson north
SCHOOL OF PUBLIC HEALTH & HEALTH PROFESSIONS 3/4
Bob Burkard Blo Bloom
Scott White G. FARKING Is Jane
John Wilson Jl XWM
0
SCHOOL OF SOCIAL WORK 2/2
Gretchen Ely TYCLW
Diane Elze
UNIVERSITY LIBRARIES 4/4
Susan Dow
Michael Kicey MK
Amy Lyons
Marcia Zubrow M2
SUNY SENATORS 4/4
Cemal Basaran
Jason Benedict
Philip Glick
Frederick Stoss
PRESIDENT OF THE UNIVERSITY AT BUFFALO:
Satish Tripathi ABSENT
PROVOST OF THE UNIVERSITY AT BUFFALO:
Charles Zukoski ARSENT PROFESSIONAL STAFF SENATE:
Domenic Licata PRESENT
COUNCIL OF ADVOCACY AND LEADERSHIP (COAL):

Mike Brown

Faculty Senate Meeting Tuesday, May 14th, 2019 3:00-4:30pm, Center For Tomorrow

GUESTS – Please Sign In

Alternates - Please Sign In for Senator where they would sign.

Sala 11 - 11

Ahana North

Jacob Sloan Ni We Lowman